Architecture Scope

The scope of the Regional ITS Architecture can be described in terms of: 1) the size of the region and jurisdictions covered (geographic scope), 2) the planning or time horizon, and 3) the variety of transportation services that are covered. This scope is defined in the context of adjacent and overlapping Regional ITS Architectures.


The Treasure Valley Regional ITS Architecture was first developed in 1999 following the completion of a preliminary ITS plan in 1998. It provides a framework of policies, procedures, and strategies for integration of the region's existing resources to effectively meet existing and future regional transportation needs and expectations. The architecture was developed collaboratively with many regional stakeholders and has been updated periodically as ITS projects have been implemented. Key stakeholders include the Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho, Idaho Transportation Department, Ada County Highway District, Canyon County, the cities listed in the geographic scope, Valley Regional Transit, Treasure Valley Transit, and numerous emergency management agencies (e.g. 911, law, fire, medical). The operational vision for the Treasure Valley is "Active management of the Treasure Valley's multimodal transportation system through agency partnerships and investment in ITS technology as an essential regional strategy to maximize the performance of the transportation system."

See the 2013 ITS Plan for an overview of how the ITS Architecture can be integrated with traditional planning and for the operational concept for each service area.

Time Frame

2020 – 2030

Geographic Scope

The Treasure Valley encompasses the urbanized area within northern Ada and Canyon Counties in southwestern Idaho and includes the cities of Boise, Caldwell, Eagle, Garden City, Kuna, Meridian, Middleton, Nampa, and Star. The Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho (COMPASS) is an association of the local governments working together to plan for the future of the region. COMPASS conducts this work as the metropolitan planning organization (MPO) for the region.

Service Scope

Service areas include:
* Regional Traffic Management
* Regional Operations Coordination and Planning
* Freeway Management
* Arterial Management
* Incident and Event Management
* Emergency Management Coordination
* Traveler Information
* Public Transportation Management
* Road Weather Operations
* Maintenance and Construction Management
* Regional Data Archiving
* Regional Communications Infrastructure Management

Related Architectures

Related ArchitectureDescription
ITD District 3 Regional ITS Architecture – 2010Regional level architecture for rural District 3 of Idaho which does not include any components that function only within the Treasure Valley limits.
ITD Statewide ITS Architecture – 2010Statewide level architecture for the state of Idaho.
Oregon Statewide ITS ArchitectureThis architecture includes statewide ITS initiatives in the state of Oregon led by the Oregon Department of Transportation and numerous partners such as other traffic management agencies, public transportation agencies, and emergency management agencies. Regional ITS initiatives are included in the regional architectures for the metropolitan areas of Portland, Salem–Keizer, Eugene–Springfield, Deschutes County, the Rogue Valley, and the Central Willamette Valley.